top of page
Search
Writer's picturetanyareynolds23

Build A Life You Don't Need a Vacation From

Quotes tell us to build a life that we don't need a vacation from. This specific quote tends to plague me with guilt as I looks forward to and relish in my vacations. The universe sent me this bit of irony as I walked out on the balcony this morning to look for the sunrise:




Work always seems to follow me here. (Funny side note, the guys at work actually let me spend a few hours in a wheel loader on a jobsite this week.) Anyways, this morning I was reflecting on the quote and attempting to challenge the validity of it. I understand and agree with the sentiment. I would want anyone that I care about to build a life that they are not constantly dreaming of escaping. Our lives should be something that we enjoy instead of endure. No, that's not the part of the quote that I am struggling. Or maybe, life and we as humans are more complex than that. My first thought is that I love vacation because the time provides opportunities to allocate more to interests and hobbies that just don't make it into my everyday life. Honestly, my life coach and I have been going round and round about this topic. I try to convince her that I am a complex individual with an array of interests and passions. Her response is that if I really wanted to do something, I would make the time. While I don't agree that deep down I don't want to do whatever the activity is, I also know that I can be extremely stubborn and motivated. I'm not settled with it yet so we will continue to discuss...lol. For weeks I have been thinking about the blankets I want to work on, the bath bombs I can't wait to use, the books that have been calling my name, and the opportunity to write. As I sit, type, and watch the wheel loader out of the corner of my eye, I wonder if I really have it all wrong. My everyday world is crazy and intense, and unless you ask me when I am in the thick of it, I really don't think I would want that any other way either. I love playing full contact and being a count on person. So maybe it can be "both and." Maybe I can love the intensity and demand of my every day life, but I can also love vacation and it's opportunity to bring balance to my world. And maybe I can be honest with myself and acknowledge that there is room for improvement with how far out of balance I allow my world to become.


My boss and I have a close relationship, and he was asking me about my plans for vacation knowing that I was struggling with taking time off because of a few things going on. For the most part, my answers were pretty much what he expected. He challenged me to do something that I have never done before or possibly something on my bucket list. That is still rolling around in my head, and I'm not quite sure if I want to add that into my calm, unstructured plan for the week. I will keep you posted since my goal is to take advantage of me free time this week and post more. Love and light <3

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Life Coach Assignment

Lately I have been struggling with giving myself permission to choose things that make me happy. I often act out of obligation or the...

Maybe I'm Done?

Hey Friends! So yesterday I was signed up to do a craft show in Pine Grove. And you know what? I blew it off. It was a decision I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page