top of page
Search
Writer's picturetanyareynolds23

Don't Think, Just Write

Solid advice I needed to hear, especially as a chronic overthinker. In my quest to be perfect, how can I not over analyze EVERYTHING to death to make sure that I haven't missed something? I've done enough work on myself to know that trying to be perfect robs me of authenticity, vulnerability and ultimately confidence. I've been working on myself in those areas for years, and at times, it has felt like a lost cause. Isn't it funny though that if we are open, at times life gives us little glimpses of progress. That is what this trip has been for me, a little glimpse of hope and progress. Sometimes I think we can get so caught up on the path that we are on and working so hard to put one foot in front of the other that we lose sight of everything else. And other times, perspective can kick us straight in the face. Years past, I craved my vacation as a chance to escape, but after a couple days, it was no longer healthy for me to be left alone with my thoughts. Instead l would have to devote energy to distracting myself. While I know I am far from "healed" if there is such a thing, I am much closer to my IDGAF vacation then ever before. Sure, I still get caught up in the "shoulds" of what I think I am expected to do, but I am also more likely to put time and energy into what makes me happy. I am also able to enjoy the quite time alone with my thoughts and they too are now more healthy. Yesterday, I sat down with one of my stories I haven't touched in months, and read it from start to finish. I smiled with pride for what I had put on those pages. Then... for the first time in a long time, I sat down again to write. While I don't feel what I added was as well constructed as the previous, I was thrilled that I took time and put pen to paper. After today, the sun is supposed to disappear causing me to think that writing conditions will be more favorable. I look forward to recommitting not only here but in my "normal" life too. I'm hopeful that I can realize growth in this area of my life as well 🤞 Thank you for being on this journey with me ❤️

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Life Coach Assignment

Lately I have been struggling with giving myself permission to choose things that make me happy. I often act out of obligation or the...

Maybe I'm Done?

Hey Friends! So yesterday I was signed up to do a craft show in Pine Grove. And you know what? I blew it off. It was a decision I...

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page