top of page
Search
Writer's picturetanyareynolds23

I Just Can't Commit

I've had this blog rolling around in my head for a few days... which is my typical process. Almost as if I have to vet the idea to make sure I care enough to post about it.


When I was little, my grandma taught me how to crochet. The memory makes me smile as I remember how she struggled with her lefty student. Today, the empath in me loves to make blankets and give them away which is something I've been enjoying off and on for years. To me, my favorite gift is a gift of comfort and peace. As I put hours and hours into each blanket, not only am I excited about creating, but I'm wishing the recipient much peace and relaxation. In my mind, those are some of the ultimate luxuries of life.


Until recently, I always thought my blankets were merely a gesture. In true Tanya fashion I believed they were only good enough to be donated to the veteran's hospital or I felt my friends were exaggerating their excitement for my benefit. As a test, I decided to list some on Facebook market place with practically zero interest. Of course I used that to tell myself that the assumptions I had been making all along were accurate and only occasionally reminding myself that the magic is in people being able to touch them. Then... one of the guys at work said he wanted to buy one for his wife. I sent it home with him one day for her to check out, and she loved it 🤩 To say I was awe struck is an understatement. Since then I had a stand at an event where I desperately hope to see 1 blanket, but instead I sold 5!! I currently have an order for a gender neutral baby blanket, and I'm doing an event October 15th at the Mint Leaf so I'm working really hard to build inventory as I have high hopes for the 15th (but am also trying to remind myself about the dangers of expectations). So far, I've been fairly methodical. I start 1 blanket and pretty much work on it until completion. Well, as any crafter will tell you, purchasing the supplies is about as fun as the project itself, and I'm assuming because of the time of year, yarn has been on sale. My collection has exploded and consumed my living room. There are bags all over the place, and each one is a blanket waiting to be created. And I'm so EXCITED about ALL of it. My normal approach has been completely thrown out the window as I want to start them all now...immediately...lol. I feel so creative and excited which is kinda new for me. This whole process has been a bunch of the spaces in between for me. I often can't wait to either get home to work on a project or to scour the internet for new combinations to put together. Below are 3 of the projects I current am working on with 2 I've completed in the last week or so. Thank you for reading my story and allowing me to share my excitement with you. You are also a space in between for me ❤️



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Life Coach Assignment

Lately I have been struggling with giving myself permission to choose things that make me happy. I often act out of obligation or the...

Maybe I'm Done?

Hey Friends! So yesterday I was signed up to do a craft show in Pine Grove. And you know what? I blew it off. It was a decision I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page