top of page
Search
Writer's picturetanyareynolds23

Sometimes I am So in Awe of Them

Construction guys get such a bad wrap. Sure, they can talk like a sailor, as can I. And while they can have an edge, I have often been hard pressed to find a more generous, patient, smart, or thoughtful group of guys. Because I have a very different skill set from them, I often struggle to keep up during technical situations. Props to them because they can often break it down in a way that is neither condescending or mansplaining. It does however often involve drawings, videos and sometimes Google (smile). Lately I have been working with a group of guys (who I have worked closely with before) on a controversial piece of equipment. Controversial meaning that my boss is against it...lol. We were thorough with our prep work, and I know I can trust them, which I don't give freely. The piece went out into the field on Wednesday after a few more laughs and struggles that I won't bore you with. Whenever we work in the road, it is extra stressful for our leadership as there are extra risks and safety protocols to follow. It took everything I had to not reach out pleading for an update, and by Friday afternoon, I was weak. I was in the process of texting the foreman, when my phone rang. It was the foreman calling to update me. I was so relieved and thrilled to hear that the piece was working as we expected. (I had faith, but ya' know) The struggle was that I was so appreciative that he thought to include me, that I had to be very intentional about paying attention to what he was telling me. I felt like a valued member of the team and it was quite possibly the highlight of the week. Then.... this morning.... I get videos of the equipment in action from the pipe foreman. He's telling me how much easier it is making everything for them and thanks me for helping to acquire them. Again... I was so touched by the thought and gesture! And while I have the utmost respect for these 2, there is more to it than that. At work, we often talk about not having to do things the way they have always been done, and these 2 are being intentional about that. It's exciting to me to be part of that! Even though it has been a long week, I really don't think I could be more grateful!!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Life Coach Assignment

Lately I have been struggling with giving myself permission to choose things that make me happy. I often act out of obligation or the...

Maybe I'm Done?

Hey Friends! So yesterday I was signed up to do a craft show in Pine Grove. And you know what? I blew it off. It was a decision I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page