top of page
Search
Writer's picturetanyareynolds23

The Lesson is Coming Whether You Like it or Not

Sometimes no matter how amazing a class is, if you are not ready to receive the lesson, the teaching just doesn't land. This weekend has been packed with learning, but not really what has been on the agenda. Friday night I came flying up here barely making it in time for what would most likely be my favorite class of the weekend. Instead of being able to enjoy, I radiated stress from my day and dealt with lingering issues. In the 2nd class of the day, I all but melted down as Sheila continued to add more tangles to the tile she was working on which is typical Sheila. I realized that it was almost a metaphor for my world at the moment. I'm always trying to shove just one more thing in my world and right now it feels completely jumbled. Yesterday was packed with learning as well. Being someone who always strives for optimal performance and excellence, I was really struggling with my art compared to the rest of the people in the class. Their work felt so refined compared to my own. It took me most of the day to accept that maybe my style is slightly more cartoon-ish and maybe that is one way I cope with the intensity of my world... and maybe that is ok. It may never be polished and refined, but that doesn't mean that it is less than. I'm still working on fully embracing it, but I am on my way. Today, we worked on a project where the slightest touch produced the best product. If you pushed too hard, it would distort the paper. Talk about another lesson that hit me square in the face. Now I'm about to head out for the final class of the weekend. As always, I am leaving with way more than I signed up for. It will be quite the reflective drive home. Thank you Pine Creek Retreat ❤️

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Life Coach Assignment

Lately I have been struggling with giving myself permission to choose things that make me happy. I often act out of obligation or the...

Maybe I'm Done?

Hey Friends! So yesterday I was signed up to do a craft show in Pine Grove. And you know what? I blew it off. It was a decision I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page