top of page
Search
Writer's picturetanyareynolds23

Today Made My Heart Happy

I learned the other week that I really don't fit. When sitting with a group of women, I spend most of the time smiling and nodding as I struggle to relate to anything they are saying. The guys? Well that was much closer. I could at least laugh at conversations about strippers and boobs, but deep down I know they were censoring themselves out of respect for me. It's the same situation for me at work. I definitely don't fit with the office staff. It's where my background is so I can conform if necessary. When I am with the field, I joke about myself being a "delicate office flower" which is really me confessing that I know I am not hardcore enough to make it in their world. The crazy part is that I live for those field days. I still know that I would never make it every day, but I always appreciate that they let me dabble and pretend. Today was one of those days. I couldn't help but laugh at the comments that were made when I arrived onsite. It made me smile that they felt safe enough to tease me, and I knew it was all in good fun. Then later the loader operator stopped by to ask if I got in trouble and was sent to the field on a cold day as a punishment. He even offered to talk to my boss for me...LOL. Later the foreman came up behind me while I was concentrating on the registrations I was working on and scared me to death. No matter how mad I get at him though, his laugh always makes me smile. I got to spend some time collaborating on a project with 2 foremen which I am pumped about and was once again reminded of the value of a genuine thank you. As Ice Cube has said, today was a good day!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Life Coach Assignment

Lately I have been struggling with giving myself permission to choose things that make me happy. I often act out of obligation or the...

Maybe I'm Done?

Hey Friends! So yesterday I was signed up to do a craft show in Pine Grove. And you know what? I blew it off. It was a decision I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page