top of page
Search
Writer's picturetanyareynolds23

Tom Petty May Be My Love Language

I came to a somewhat scary revelation last night... I realized that once this office is set up, I'm actually going to have to write. While that may seem obvious, I was not prepared for the amount of pressure that came veering down on me. The pressure was that bad even after 3 days of not being in the office, I packed up and went home. The late but great Tom Petty sings to us about running down a dream:


I rolled on, the sky grew dark

I put the pedal down to make some time

There's something good waitin' down this road

I'm pickin' up whatever's mine


Like my mom, I've always loved Tom Petty. He had a talent for singing about what is in the hearts of everyday people. The verse above perfectly describes my attitude as I once again ventured back into the office tonight determined to put some words down. (I don't know... I always thought it sounded cool when musicians laid down tracks so.....). My head and heart were drowning in self doubt about the dismal outcomes of the situation I so proudly thrust myself into. I mean, who really chases their dreams!?!?! Well... I don't know your stance on signs, or angels, or everything happening for a reason, but I will openly and proudly tell you that I believe in all of it. In hopes of paying proper respect to the work of Mr. Petty, I was Googling the lyrics above to guarantee accuracy. Even though he had 4 greatest hits albums, "I Won't Back Down" came up next in my search. Thank you universe! In this moment I am looking around my office for the proper place to permanently display my new battle cry. He sings about standing at the gates of Hell, but in case you aren't familiar, I provided the lyrics below:


No, I'll stand my ground

Won't be turned around

And I'll keep this world from draggin' me down

Gonna stand my ground


I do believe that writers need to be a bit of an old soul and there is so much romance in the written word. Hell, I still prefer to write in a notebook instead of type. My music has always represented what is going on in my head and heart. Tom Petty may not be a sex icon or even a common household name, but he wrote songs that represent all of us at some point in our lives. Writing tonight went much better. I'm not sure if it was compliments of Tom Petty or a few alcoholic orange creamsicles, but either way, I know I'm not backing down. There's something good waitin' down this road... and even the losers get lucky sometimes. Much gratitude to the late, great Tom Petty... and to you for reading this rant. My heart is happy and full of hope... what a promising space in between!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Life Coach Assignment

Lately I have been struggling with giving myself permission to choose things that make me happy. I often act out of obligation or the...

Maybe I'm Done?

Hey Friends! So yesterday I was signed up to do a craft show in Pine Grove. And you know what? I blew it off. It was a decision I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page