top of page
Search
Writer's picturetanyareynolds23

You Didn't Do It Right

We had a pipe foreman leave the company this week by his own choice. As part of the process, I inventory the small tools to make sure everything is accounted for. As we are going through everything, it became obvious that he was struggling with his decision to leave. I could sympathize as I felt the same way last time I made the decision to change companies. He started telling me about the opportunities he had to choose from and how our COO told him that he would hire him back. He also spoke of the team he grew, the people he developed and how he felt he was letting them down by leaving. I listened and occasionally nodded as he talked feeling that the time had passed for my commentary to have any real value. Then he moved on to the people at the company and how he really likes everyone which is typical anytime someone leaves by their own choice. I don't remember exactly how he said it, but he said something that flipped a switch for me. I told him that if you leave here and don't regret leaving the people, you didn't do it right. Our company doesn't pay the highest salaries and we have our own fair share of drama, but at the end of the day, it's our people that make us great. I feel so bad for the people who come thru these doors or gates and never realize that. Knowing that drives a lot of my decisions and actions. While sometimes it makes things much harder, I'm so glad I did it right. ❤

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Life Coach Assignment

Lately I have been struggling with giving myself permission to choose things that make me happy. I often act out of obligation or the...

Maybe I'm Done?

Hey Friends! So yesterday I was signed up to do a craft show in Pine Grove. And you know what? I blew it off. It was a decision I...

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page